DIY Fabric-Covered Boxes

I promised a tutorial and here it is. These are my new thing – DIY fabric-covered boxes.

I got the idea from scouring pinterest to find storage soloutions for my closet. First, I went to Hobby Lobby and found some cute fabric for $6.99/yd, that I got with this 40% off coupon (https://www.facebook.com/HobbyLobby ) :-).  For these boxes I was making for the boys’ closet, I wanted to find something not too feminine, but still playful. I thought this fabric looked great so I bought 3 yards to cover two boxes. I used some empty boxes I had lying around, but I have found perfect storage boxes for FREE at Costco in their empty box bins.

Next, I got out my trusty glue gun. I know some crafters who use spray adhesive or use mod podge and those probably work fine, but I have a big ol’ bag of glue sticks and I’m not afraid to use them. I cut the fabric so it would be long enough to fold up and over the sides of the box.

I just cut a big rectangle. There’s probably a way to make a pattern and cut it into a big “plus +” sign, then fold it up and over, but I’m not patient enough for that, unfortunately. 😉 So I cut a big rectangle, pulled up one side nice and smooth, and shot a line of glue with my gun. Next, I used my scissors instead of my fingers to smooth the fabric over the hot glue.

Let me offer a warning for those unfamiliar with the dangers of using a hot glue gun. That stuff is HOT!!! I’ve burned my poor fingers more than I can count. (And that’s because I’ve burned them a lot, not because I can’t count that high.) 🙂  I suggest, keeping a bowl of ice water handy when using hot glue for quick finger submersion.

Next, come the corners. Now, corners can be a little tricky. Since our original “pattern” was cut into a rectangle, we will have a bunch of fabric on the ends that will need to be trimmed. Think about wrapping a present. The sides are easy, but the ends take some finesse. I cut down the edge and out to the side.

Then, I folded the edges in and glued the fabric to the box.

I thought about covering the inside, but honestly, I’m the only one who is going to see the inside of the box because it will sit on the top shelf of the closet. I did, however, have enough fabric left over to make another small box (remember I bought 3 yards.)

Wow! I didn’t notice it until now, but you can totally see through the fabric to the writing underneath! Well, maybe you might want to paint over the writing.

So that’s all there is to it, my friend. Give it a try and tell me how it turned out. Or, better, yet, blog about it and I’ll come over for a visit! 🙂

One thought on “DIY Fabric-Covered Boxes

What do you think?

