How To Paint A Metal File Cabinet

 

This is a project that I have been wanting to do for a while, so the other day, I jumped in and just started painting this ugly beast. Here’s what I did. I had this monster black file cabinet that I inherited when we moved. I’ve been using it to store my homeschool/preschool stuff, but I wanted it to look prettier so I could keep it upstairs in the loft instead of in the garage. This is before (obviously).
IMG_2383 IMG_2384I really didn’t want to take off all that hardware, so I just taped it up.

IMG_2385I decided on a shiny, fire engine red. I’m sorry I forgot to take a picture of the can of spray paint, but I bought two cans of Rustoleum for Metal paint. I wiped the dust off of the surface of the cabinet, but I didn’t sand it down or do any primer. (I am very new at refinishing furniture, so I know I made some “rookie” mistakes 🙂 )

This is after the first coat.IMG_2387IMG_2388

I let it dry for about an hour, then I did another coat. IMG_2389It really needed another coat, but I was out of paint and patience. (Like I said, I’m a rookie) So after it dried for a couple of hours, My Hubs and First-born took the beast upstairs, where I positioned it where I liked it, reassembled it, and Voila! IMG_2525 IMG_2526 IMG_2527Shiny, red, and matches my new, chevron pattern pillows.  What do you think?

What do you think?

